The Reverend Martin Yabroff

Rector (Pastor)

Fr. Martin grew up mainly in California, and met his wife Eve at UC Santa Cruz. After receiving his seminary degree from Boston University School of  Theology (M.Div., 1982), he was Assistant to the Rector at St. Mary’s by-the-Sea, Pacific Grove, CA, where he was ordained a priest in 1985. He served as founding vicar of St. Philip’s, Scotts Valley, CA from 1987 to 2004, as the congregation grew from six to 100 households. He then was called to be the Dean of the Cathedral of St. James, South Bend, Indiana. This call was for a season of transition as the cathedral came through a very difficult period. He then accepted a call to St. Andrew’s, Tacoma, in 2007. In this diocese, Martin served on Diocesan Council for nine years, including several years as Council Chaplain. He has served as Deputy to General Convention from El Camino Real and Northern Indiana, and he serves on the board of Associated Ministries, a local interfaith agency addressing homelessness in Pierce County. Martin and Eve have six children and five grandchildren.

Parish Leadership, which according to the Bible is by God’s grace through Christ, is described in Ephesians 4:11–16.

“The gifts he [Christ] gave were that some would be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, some pastors and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ, until all of us come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to maturity, to the measure of the full stature of Christ. … Speaking the truth in love, we must grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by every ligament with which it is equipped, as each part is working properly, promotes the body’s growth in building itself up in love.”

Associate clergy and parish staff

Fr. Edward Sterling

Diocesan Canon

Cyndi Wolfer

Parish nurse

Linda Brice

Parish administrator

Beth Rich


Naomi Shiga

Music director

Milly Hickman

Nursery attendant

Matthew Moravec

Sunday School administrator

If you don’t have a parish directory, please contact the church office and we’ll be happy put you in touch with whoever you’re looking for.

Question: Who are the ministers of the Church?
Answer: The ministers of the Church are lay persons, bishops, priests, and deacons.

The Book of Common Prayer, p. 855

Lay leadership


Standing: Tom Egnew, Martin Yabroff (Rector), Victoria Dodson, Judy Nelson, Ken Rhodes, Carol Baarsma

Seated: Liz Herriges (Senior Warden), Don Ramage (Junior Warden), Kristina Younger, Jessica Richards

Liz Herriges

Senior warden

Bill Brice


Don Ramage

Junior warden

If you don’t have a parish directory, please contact the church office and we’ll be happy put you in touch with whoever you’re looking for.